Virginia Auto Insurance Guide
Navigating Virginia roadways have enough pitfalls; getting an staying licensed and choosing car insurance shouldn’t be one of them. Below is a primer for Virginia drivers on relevant requirements and laws.
Just looking to compare car insurance quotes? Start here.
Virginia Auto Insurance Requirements
To be a licensed Virginia driver, an individual must show financial responsibility in the form of car insurance. The minimum required insurance coverage in Virginia is:
Bodily Injury Liability: Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for total damages
Property Damage Liability: $20,000
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 for one person and $50,000 for total damages.
Don’t know what those numbers mean? Check out our liability coverage guide.
Medical expense benefits, collision coverage, and comprehensive coverage are not required in Virginia. The state minimums are a floor; individuals are free to purchase greater coverage than is required. Given how much a car accident can potentially cost, the best insurance for you may be greater than the state minimums. Visit our resources page for more details on your options.
Wondering what car insurance prices look like in Virginia? Take a look at our Virginia Car Insurance Comparison Chart.
Virginia Auto Insurance Discounts
Many Virginia businesses, groups, and organizations offer “affinity group discounts” to their members. If you work for Dominion Power, Capital One, local or state government, a state college or university, or are a member of a fraternity or sorority, you may have an affinity discount available. Check with your employer or group organizers to see if they have a business relationship with any insurance companies.
Virginia Auto Insurance Penalties
Failure to meet the minimum requirements for Virginia may result in an array of penalties, including:
- $500 fee, plus costs of license and registration reinstatement.
- Suspension of your driver’s license, registration and license plates.
- Three-year requirement to file an SR-22 yearly to maintain your license, once it has been reinstated.
To learn more about the requirements and penalties, visit the Virginia DMV website.
Driving Without Insurance
In Virginia, it is illegal to drive without car insurance unless you have paid the $500 Uninsured Motorist Fee. This fee is a penalty for failure to pay insurance; it does not replace any liability coverage and does not protect you from being sued if you are at fault in an accident (and in Virginia, you’re almost always at fault). You can learn more about the Uninsured Motorist Fee on the DMV Website.
Car Registration and Licensing Guide
Read our Virginia Car Registration and Licensing guide to learn what steps you need to take when getting a Virginia driver’s license, registering your car, and more.