Texas Auto Insurance Requirements
Insurance is required to drive in Texas. One in five vehicles in Texas is uninsured, so police officers can useTexasSure to determine on the spot whether a vehicle carries insurance or not. The minimum coverage levels in Texas are:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $30,000 for injury or death to each person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident
If you’re uncertain what those numbers mean, check out our liability coverage guide.
Medical payments, uninsured motorist coverage, and comprehensive coverage are not required in Texas; however, these supplemental coverages may be beneficial. Check out our guides for more details on your options.
Sometimes, a car accident may be more expensive than you anticipated. The state minimums are a floor; you are entitled to purchase greater coverage than the law dictates. Compare quotes to find the insurance that best suits your needs.
Curious about the range of car insurance prices in Texas? Check out our Texas Car Insurance Comparison Chart.
Texas Auto Insurance Discounts
An “affinity group discount” may be available if you are a member or employee of an eligible group. Organizations such as sororities and fraternities or alumni associations, as well as some government entities or universities may have a relationship with a particular insurance company. Ask about it!
Texas Auto Insurance Penalties
If you don’t have insurance, or your insurance fails to meet the minimum requirements, there are stiff penalties. A first offense may cost you $175 – $350; subsequent offenses may mean:
- $350 – $1,000 fine.
- Suspension of your driver’s license and impounding of your vehicle.
- Up to a year in jail if you cause a serious accident while uninsured.
- Two-year requirement to file an SR-22 yearly to maintain your license, once it has been reinstated.
To learn more about the requirements and penalties, visit the Texas Department of Insurance website.
Texas Driver’s Guide
Read our Texas Car Registration and Licensing guide to earn what steps you need to take when getting a Texas driver’s license, registering your car, and more.