Understand Your State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

April 04, 2018

All states have minimum car insurance requirements of coverage to legally operate your car. Driving without car insurance will usually result in a fine if you are caught so it’s in your best interest to find out what coverage is required from your state.

➡  Skip to Required Coverage Explanation

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements by State

State Minimum Requirements
Alabama
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Alaska
  • $50k bodily injury liability per person
  • $100k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Arizona
  • $15k bodily-injury liability per person
  • $30k bodily-injury liability per accident
  • $10k property-damage liability
Arkansas
  • $25k for bodily injury per person
  • $50k for bodily injury per accident
  • $25k for property damage per accident
California
  • $15k bodily injury liability per person
  • $30k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5k property damage liability per accident
Colorado
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15k property damage liability per accident
Connecticut
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
Delaware
  • $15k bodily injury liability per person
  • $30k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
Florida
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $10k personal injury protection
Georgia
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Hawaii
  • $20k bodily injury liability per person
  • $40k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $10k personal injury protection
Idaho
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15k property damage liability per accident
Illinois
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
Indiana
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
Iowa
  • $20k bodily injury liability per person
  • $40k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15k property damage liability per accident
Kansas
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

  • $4.5k medical expenses
  • $900 per month for disability or loss of income
  • $25 per day for in-home services
  • $4.5k for rehabilitation
  • $2k for funeral or cremation costs
Kentucky
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $10k personal injury protection
Louisiana
  • $15k bodily injury liability per person
  • $30k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Maine
  • $50k bodily injury liability per person
  • $100k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $100k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $2k medical payments coverage
Maryland
  • $30k bodily injury liability per person
  • $60k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15k property damage liability per accident
Massachusetts
  • $20k bodily injury liability per person
  • $40k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5k property damage liability per accident
  • $20k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $40k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $8k personal injury protection
Michigan
  • $20k bodily injury liability per person
  • $40k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident

No-Fault Insurance Policy

  • Personal injury protection (PIP) – lifetime of medical expenses and up to 3 years of wage loss
  • Property protection (PPI) – $1MIL for damages to other peoples property
Minnesota
  • $30k bodily injury liability per person
  • $60k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $40k personal injury protection
Mississippi
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Missouri
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
Montana
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20k property damage liability per accident
Nebraska
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
Nevada
  • $15k bodily injury liability per person
  • $30k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
New Hampshire
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist property damage coverage
  • $1k medical payments coverage

*Car insurance is optional in this state but we wouldn’t suggest going without it.*

New Jersey
  • $15k bodily injury liability per person
  • $30k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5k property damage liability per accident
  • $15k personal injury protection
New Mexico
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
New York
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50k liability for death per person
  • $100k liability for death per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $50k personal injury protection
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
North Carolina
  • $30k bodily injury liability per person
  • $60k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $30k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $60k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
North Dakota
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $30k personal injury protection
Ohio
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Oklahoma
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Oregon
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $15k personal injury protection
Pennsylvania
  • $15k bodily injury liability per person
  • $30k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $5k property damage liability per accident
  • $5k medical benefits
Rhode Island
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
South Carolina
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist property damage coverage
South Dakota
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
Tenneesse
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15k property damage liability per accident
Texas
  • $30k bodily injury liability per person
  • $60k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
Utah
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $65k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15k property damage liability per accident
  • $3k personal injury protection
Vermont
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $100k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $10k uninsured & underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
Virginia
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $20k uninsured & underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
Washington
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
Washington D.C.
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $5k uninsured & underinsured motorist property damage coverage per accident
West Virginia
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist property damage coverage
Wisconsin
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10k property damage liability per accident
  • $25k uninsured motorist coverage per person
  • $50k uninsured motorist coverage per accident
Wyoming
  • $25k bodily injury liability per person
  • $50k bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20k property damage liability per accident

Explaining Required Car Insurance Coverage

When it comes to auto insurance coverage, there are four basic types of coverage that may be required by your state:

  1. Bodily Injury Liability
  2. Property Damage Liability
  3. Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  4. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or No-fault Insurance

If you are looking for basic car insurance required by your state, you will most likely only need liability insurance which will cover bodily injury and property damage if an accident occurs. Coverage limits are displayed like 15/45/25 or $15,000/$45,000/$25,000.

In the example above, these numbers mean that your state minimum responsibility is:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $45,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

What is Bodily Injury Liability Coverage?

Bodily injury liability coverage will help when harm is done to another passenger in your car or any other vehicle involved in an accident which is your fault. Your bodily injury limits are managed by two numbers. The first is bodily injury per person and the second is per accident. The per person limit sets a maximum on how much the insurance company will pay out per person in the event someone is injured. The per accident sets a cap on the maximum that the insurance company will pay out per accident. If your bodily injury limits were $15,000/$45,000 and there were 3 people injured with $20,000 worth of injuries each. They would only receive $15,000 each. In this case, you are underinsured and the remaining $5,000 for each injured person would come out of your pocket, which is usually settled out in court. Ouch.

What is Property Damage Liability?

Property damage liability coverage will help cover the costs when any damage is done to another person’s property such as a car, fence, bicycle, or home. The limit set is the maximum amount the insurance company will pay if there is an accident in which you are at fault. The minimum in some instances is not always enough depending on the severity of the incident.

What is Underinsured and Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection is great to have when someone hits you and they don’t have enough coverage to pay off expenses occurred during an accident that is their fault. Most states don’t require this type of coverage but with the increase of drivers driving without insurance and low liability limits, it’s probably something to think about.

What is Personal Injury Protection (PIP)?

Personal injury protection, also known as No-fault coverage, is an additional coverage that will help cover you and your passenger’s injury expenses after an accident. It can help pay for funeral expenses, medical expenses, and even lost wages.

There are currently only 12 states that are considered a mandatory ‘no-fault’ state.

List of No-fault States:

  1. Florida
  2. Hawaii
  3. Kansas
  4. Kentucky
  5. Massachusetts
  6. Michigan
  7. Minnesota
  8. New Jersey
  9. New York
  10. North Dakota
  11. Pennsylvania
  12. Utah

If you are looking to compare state minimum car insurance quotes from multiple insurance companies, start by filling out the zip code form below. We can help you find some of the cheapest car insurance with the coverage you need. Save some money today!

Compare Car Insurance Quotes

Share This

Enter your info. Compare companies. Lock-in your price. Be done.