Shopping for auto insurance in Ohio? Compare.com is here to help. Here's everything Ohio drivers need to know about insuring their cars, including information on car insurance discounts, licensing and insurance options and Ohio’s minimum insurance requirements.
Start comparing Ohio car insurance options and get multiple car insurance quotes for your vehicle.
What are the Car Insurance Requirement Laws in Ohio
In Ohio, it is illegal to drive any motor vehicle without proof of insurance. Each state sets its own insurance minimums which you must meet to register your car. In Ohio, the minimums are:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 for injury or death to one person; $50,000 for two or more people per accident.
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident.
If you don’t know what the numbers mean, or want to know more, visit our resources page.
Uninsured motorist coverage, comprehensive coverage (other than collision), medical payments, and collision insurance are not required in Ohio; however, there are benefits to having additional coverage. Check out our guides if you want to learn more about your options.
If you’re at fault in an accident, the cost of medical bills and/or possible lawsuits is likely to exceed the coverage levels mandated by law. Keep this in mind when you’re shopping for car insurance; you may want to choose coverage that’s greater than the minimum.
Cheap Liability Coverage in Ohio
We have some good news: It’s not too hard to find cheap liability car insurance in Ohio. To get the best rates, enter your information on Compare.com and compare quotes for state minimum insurance. That’s a liability-only policy: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, plus $25,000 in property damage liability.
The cost? When we ran the numbers for our sample driver — a 27-year-old Cleveland woman with a clean record — her lowest quote for liability-only insurance was $49 to $97 per month (when paid in full). Will you pay less or more for cheap liability car insurance? There’s only one way to find out: Compare quotes yourself.
Ohio Auto Insurance Discounts
Many Ohio businesses, groups, and organizations may offer affinity group discounts for their members. These discounts are available because some insurance companies partner with organizations and offer lower rates for members or employees. Check with your employer or group’s leadership to see if you qualify for one of these discounts!
Ohio Auto Insurance Penalties
Approximately eleven percent of Ohio drivers do not carry liability insurance. Ohio uses a random selection program to check whether drivers have insurance, and if you’re stopped by a police officer you may be asked to present proof of insurance. Failure to insure your vehicle may lead to:
- Suspension of license for up to two years, as well as suspension of registration and license plates
- Reinstatement of $150 to $650, depending on number of violations
- Requirement to file an SR-22 for three to five years after reinstatement to maintain your license.
- Impounding or forfeiture of your vehicle for 30-60 days.
Car Registration and Licensing Guide
Read our Ohio Car Registration and Licensing guide to earn what steps you need to take when getting an Ohio driver’s license, registering your car, and more.
Vehicle Fees and Other Related Costs
If you’re in the market for a new or used car, you’ll need to budget for more than just the vehicle’s sticker price. You’ll be on the hook for basic DMV fees like title, license plate, and registration fees no matter where and how you purchase your new car, truck or SUV, as well as buying a new car insurance policy for your car. But some buyers will find themselves with additional fees such as sales tax, documentation fees, personal property tax, emissions and inspection fees, hybrid and electric vehicle fees, lien recording fees and a slew of other costs.
Check out Compare.com’s comprehensive vehicle costs breakdown to make sure you account for all the added fees you might be on the hook for when buying a car in Ohio.