From the whimsical Enchanted Highway to the eerie Petrified Forest, North Dakota is home to some beautiful drives. Before you switch on your cruise control, however, you need to find yourself some cheap ND car insurance.
Try Compare.com’s step-by-step guide to ND car insurance. Short on time? Just start comparing free quotes to find the best deal for you. Got more time? Read our six FAQs about North Dakota car insurance.
How Do I Find the Cheapest North Dakota Auto Insurance Companies?
You already have a head start! North Dakota has the fifth-cheapest car insurance rates in the whole country, according to the Insurance Information Institute. But just because ND car insurance is cheap, on average, that doesn’t mean you’re currently getting the best possible rates. Every insurance company calculates premiums differently, based on factors like your driving record, your credit history, your claims history, your age, your gender and your marital status. Where you live matters too; if you live in Fargo (population 120,000) you may pay more than if you live in Loma (population 16).
The upshot: If you want the cheapest ND auto insurance, you have to compare personalized quotes from different insurers. We make it very simple: Start here.
What Are North Dakota’s Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements?
Car insurance is not optional in North Dakota. If you have a vehicle registered in the state, you need to carry insurance that meets these minimum requirements:
How to Find Affordable Full Coverage Car Insurance in North Dakota
Many ND drivers think they need to have “full-coverage” auto insurance, meaning an insurance plan with all the extras: rental car coverage, towing, roadside assistance, etc. But if you’re on a budget, it might be smarter to buy a plan that gives you the minimum coverage and no more. How do you know how much insurance to buy?
Take a look at your assets — that is, everything you own. Car insurance exists to protect your assets from a lawsuit, should you be sued for damages after causing a car accident. (And yes, you can be sued even though North Dakota is a no-fault state. More on that in a moment.) If you drive a beater car and you don’t have a fat bank account, you may be fine with ND state minimum insurance. If you have a newer car or a car loan, you’ll need to add comprehensive and collision coverage. And if you own substantial assets, you’ll want insurance with higher liability limits.
How Do I Find the Best Deals on Car Insurance in North Dakota?
It’s so easy. First, just enter some basic driving info at Compare.com. Then, you’ll get accurate and unbiased quotes from multiple insurers, so you can see who offers you the best deal.
Here’s an example: We ran the numbers for a 27-year-old woman with a good driving record who’s shopping for auto insurance in Fargo. When she selects state minimum coverage, her insurance quotes range from $48 to $62 per month if she opts to pay her premiums up front. (If she prefers pay-as-you-go insurance, her quotes range from $61 to $72, plus a down payment.)
That’s pretty cheap! However, our Fargo driver needs collision and comprehensive coverage too, because she owns a 5-year-old Subaru Outback. So she’ll select Basic coverage, which adds comprehensive and collision with a $1,000 deductible. Now, our driver’s insurance quotes range from $92 to $123 per month, paid up front.
What if our driver wants even more insurance coverage, because she owns a home in Fargo? She decides to get quotes for Plus-level insurance, which increases bodily injury and property damage liability to 50/100/50 (with the same limits for uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage). It adds $25,000 in additional personal injury protection. Plus also cuts the comprehensive/collision deductible to $500, and adds towing/rental car coverage. Our Fargo driver’s quotes for Plus coverage range from $128 to $149 per month.
One more option is clicking “Customize coverage.” You can increase and decrease certain limits on your insurance policy, so you can get a plan that fits you — and your budget. When our Fargo driver customizes Plus insurance to drop towing and rental car coverage, and raises her deductible to $1,000, her best quote drops to $111 per month.
How Does North Dakota’s No Fault Insurance Law Work?
North Dakota is one of the states with no-fault auto insurance. This does not mean you can’t get sued if you cause a wreck! It means that when you get into an accident, you file a claim for your medical bills against your own PIP coverage — no matter who’s at fault.
If your total medical expenses after an accident exceed $2,500, and/or you suffer a “serious and permanent disfigurement or disability” lasting more than 60 days, you can file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
What are the Penalties for Driving Uninsured in North Dakota?
If you’re caught driving without ND car insurance, you’ll be fined at least $150. And if you’re involved in an accident and you’re uninsured, you’ll automatically get 14 points on your driver’s license, which means suspension.
Here’s a better idea: Just get insured! We’ll help you find the lowest quotes for ND car insurance. Get started now.