Looking for information about buying auto insurance in New Hampshire? We can help you out! Here's everything you need to know about insuring your car, including information on car insurance discounts, licensing and insurance options, minimum coverage requirements for New Hampshire and other valuable insurance information.
What are New Hampshire's Minimum Car Insurance Requirements?
Driving in New Hampshire is a unique experience. Although this state doesn’t require drivers to hold car insurance, it does require you to show that you can handle the financial responsibility in case of an accident. The minimum car insurance requirements for New Hampshire drivers are:
- Body Injury Liability: $25,000 for one person; up to $50,000 if two or more persons are injured
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person, up to $50,000 for all persons injured
- Personal Injury Protection: $1,000
If you have additional questions about the different coverage types, visit our liability coverage page to find out more.
New Hampshire does not require its drivers to carry additional coverage such as collision and comprehensive or personal liability coverage. However, having these coverage types can help protect your property and assets if the accident’s cost is relatively high. See our Auto Insurance Guides to find out how you can benefit from additional coverage.
Cheap Liability Coverage in New Hampshire
If you buy auto insurance in New Hampshire, the minimum limits available for liability coverage are 25/50/25. This turns out to be $25,000 per person in bodily injury, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury, and up to $25,000 for property damage. According to New Hampshire statutes, you’re also required to purchase uninsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection up to $1,000.
Now that you know what you need, you need to figure out where you can find cheap liability coverage in New Hampshire. One of the best ways to do this is to compare personalized quotes for a state minimum policy, and you’ll find out what the cheapest rates are. Your quotes for liability coverage depend on several factors, which directly affect how much you pay for coverage. Just enter your ZIP code below and compare quotes from dozens of insurance companies for free!
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Discounts
Drivers in New Hampshire should regularly check with their insurance company to see which discounts they are eligible for. Examples of discounts for drivers in New Hampshire are:
- Multiple vehicles
- Anti-theft devices
- Good student discount
- Good driving habits
- Bundling auto/home packages
- Low annual mileage
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Penalties
Although drivers are not required to carry proof of New Hampshire car insurance in their vehicle, they must have proof of financial responsibility on file. Without this proof, your driving license can be suspended.
If you cause an accident and do not have car insurance or proof of financial responsibility, you will need to carry the minimum coverage amounts mentioned above. You will also be required to fill out and submit an SR-22 form with the Motor Vehicles Division. Also, you must pay a fee of $500 to restore your license and registration.
Vehicle Fees and Other Costs
f you’re planning to purchase a new or used car in New Hampshire, you’ll need to budget for more than just the cost of driving your car off the lot. You’ll need to consider expenses such as your registration fees, license plate, and the cost of the title. If you purchase a hybrid vehicle, you’ll need to account for those fees or other inspection fees that may come up.
To avoid getting hit with any surprise fees, make sure to check out Compare.com’s vehicle cost breakdown to get a thorough overview of what you can expect to pay for your car.