Looking for information about buying car insurance in Vermont? Well, you came to the right place! Here's everything you need to know about insuring your car, including information on car insurance discounts, licensing and registration options, minimum coverage requirements for Vermont and all sorts of related insurance information.
What are Vermont’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements?
Holding a driver’s license in Vermont is a serious responsibility. To keep all of its residents safe, Vermont requires all drivers to carry auto insurance. Each state has varying requirements for car insurance. In Vermont, the requirements are as follows:
- Body Liability Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $10,000
- Uninsured/ Underinsured Motorist Bodily Insurance Coverage: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $10,000
Although these coverages will allow you to meet Vermont’s legal requirements, many drivers opt to purchase additional coverage. For example, although collision coverage is optional in Vermont, it can help pay for repairs to your damaged vehicle in case of an accident. Keep in mind that drivers leasing or financing their vehicle may need to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage in addition to the ones listed above.
See our Auto Insurance Guides to find out how you can benefit from additional coverage.
Cheap Liability Coverage in Vermont
To drive legally in Vermont, you’ll need the state minimum liability car insurance. That means you need a 25/50/10 policy: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, and an additional $10,000 in property damage liability. The state of Vermont requires its drivers to hold uninsured motorist coverage as well. For injury, drivers need to have a minimum of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. For property damage, there is a maximum limit of $10,000.
So, what does a responsible driver need to do to find cheap liability coverage in Vermont? Make things easy on yourself by comparing personalized quotes for state minimum policy to see how low your rates can go. Your quotes for liability coverage may be high or low depending on your age, gender, address, and several other factors.
Just enter your ZIP code below to get started!
Vermont Auto Insurance Discounts
Insurers offer several discounts for drivers of all ages. To save money on your insurance premium, check with your insurance company to see which deals you qualify to receive.
Auto insurance discounts in Vermont include the following:
- Good Student
- Driver Trainer Course Completion
- Mature Driver
- Auto Safety Features
- Auto-Home Policy Bundling
- Multi-car Policy
Vermont Auto Insurance Penalties
Driving without auto insurance or proof of financial responsibility in the state of Vermont is illegal. All drivers must maintain insurance throughout the registration period.
Penalties for driving a car without insurance include:
- First offense – Up to $500 fine and two points on your driving record
- Second offense – Up to $500 fine, required to file SR -22 form, additional two points to your driving record
Vermont Vehicle Fees and Other Costs
When purchasing a new or used car in Vermont, you’ll need to set aside money for the basic DMV costs that come with registering your vehicle. You’ll also need to budget the cost of a new insurance policy on top of your car’s sticker price. If you decided to purchase a hybrid vehicle, you’d be on the hook for those fees as well.
Check out Compare.com’s comprehensive vehicle costs breakdown to make sure you’re aware of any fees you’ll need to pay when buying a car in Vermont.