If you’re looking for information about car insurance in Massachusetts, you’ve come to the right place. Compare.com has everything you need to know about insuring your car to get you on the road as soon as possible. You’ll find information on car insurance discounts, licensing and insurance options, and other helpful insurance information in this overview.
What are Massachusetts’ Minimum Car Insurance Requirements?
Holding a driver’s license in the Plymouth Rock state isn’t something to take lightly. Drivers of all ages need to carry car insurance before they hit the road. Although each state has minimum car insurance requirements, they aren’t the same all across the board.
The minimum car insurance requirements for Massachusetts drivers are:
- Body Liability Injury: $20,000 for one person; $40,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $5,000 per accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: $20,000 per person; $40,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $8,000
While these are the minimum requirements in Massachusetts, drivers are often encouraged to purchase additional coverage options such as comprehensive and collision coverage or loan/lease gap insurance. See our Auto Insurance Guides to find out how you can benefit from additional coverage.
Cheap Liability Coverage in Massachusetts
To register a car in Massachusetts, you need to have four coverages (referred to as Compulsory Coverages) in the minimum amounts required by law. This means a 20/40/5 policy: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and an additional $5,000 in property damage liability. You’re also required to have uninsured motorist coverage that matches these limits and personal injury protection of $8,000.
With all these numbers in mind, you’re likely wondering how you can find cheap liability coverage in Massachusetts. One of the best ways to do this is to compare personalized quotes for a state minimum policy, and you’ll see firsthand how low the rates can be. Insurance companies use several factors to provide quotes for liability coverage, making the cost vary from driver to driver.
Compare Rates from Dozens of Companies for Free!
Massachusetts Auto Insurance Discounts
An easy way to save money on car insurance is to check for group marketing programs. Several insurers offer reduced rates to groups. Even better, those who qualify may not charge interest or require an initial deposit. Ask your insurance company which groups are approved for these discounts and the size of the discount. Additional auto insurance discounts in Massachusetts include the following:
- Good Student
- Good Driving Record
- Bundling Home/Auto Policy
- Safety Features
Massachusetts Auto Insurance Penalties
It’s illegal to drive a car in Massachusetts without the minimum amount of liability coverage. Severe penalties can occur for drivers caught without insurance. For your first offense, you’ll have to pay a $500 fine to your local government. You’ll also face possible jail time of up to 12 months, have your license suspended for 60 days, and need to pay $500 to get it reinstated.
You will also need to pay a fee towards Massachusetts Automobile Insurance Plan (MAIP). The fee is $500 or one year’s insurance premium.
If your second offense occurs within six years of the first offense, the fine can be anywhere from $500 – $5,000. Both your license and registration will be suspended for one year, and you’ll need to pay $500 to get your driver’s license returned to you. You will also face the same amount of jail time. The payment of $500 towards the MAIP is due as well.
Massachusetts Vehicle Fees and Other Costs
If you plan on hunting down your next car in Massachusetts anytime soon, you’ll need to budget for more than the car’s sticker price. You’ll need to plan for costs like registration taxes and fees, title, license plate, and the insurance policy for your vehicle. Some drivers may find themselves paying for emission and inspection fees for their used car or hybrid vehicle fees if they purchase that kind of car.
To get an idea of the vehicle fees you’ll need to pay, check out Compare.com’s comprehensive vehicle costs breakdown to know about the fees you’ll need to bear in Massachusetts.