Compare Rates for Nevada Car Insurance
Nevada Car Insurance Guide
The wild, wild west of fun is also the driest state in the country. Nevada is a state of extremes, but one area in which it doesn’t take any chances is keeping its drivers safe. So before moving to Nevada, be sure to put down that blackjack guide long enough to soak in critical information about the state’s auto insurance requirements.
Looking for a Nevada auto insurance quote? You’ve come to the right place.
Nevada Auto Insurance Requirements
Whether you’re driving the Las Vegas strip, making a family getaway to Hoover Dam, or heading out to the desert to escape the tourists, ensuring you meet Nevada’s minimum insurance requirements keeps driving from being a gamble. This includes maintaining body injury liability insurance of at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, as well as $10,000 for property damage. (If you’re a business or individual who owns a fleet of 10 vehicles or more in Nevada, you may also consider self-insurance).
While auto insurance policies for Nevada driver mandate uninsured motorist coverage for $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident – in the event that the driver at fault is uninsured – motorists may choose to reject this provision. Finally, Nevada does not require collision insurance or comprehensive coverage, but you may opt for these policies to protect your financial exposure in the case that the minimum insurance requirements are not enough to cover all the potential medical payments and other damages.
Remember: Having car insurance is important, but carrying proof of insurance on you at all times is also imperative. You may be cited if you fail to show an insurance ID card or other form of proof.
Nevada introduces another little wrinkle into its auto insurance requirements that all drivers need to heed: Nevada LIVE verification of liability insurance, a program that will check in with insurance providers to verify that drivers’ policies are still valid. In addition to having insurance, and keeping proof on hand that you have a policy meeting Nevada’s minimum requirements, drivers also need to ensure that their coverage is accurately reflected on this website. This means making sure the name on your registration and insurance are an exact match.
This online reference is updated automatically by the state and your insurance provider, and more often than not, there is nothing you need to do and no reason to be concerned. But we recommend logging in to the portal to make sure all the information is correct by visiting Nevada LIVE, submitting a Registration and Insurance Registration Status Inquiry, and entering the required license plate and VIN info.
Nevada Auto Insurance Discounts
Everyone loves a discount. And if you play your cards right when vetting various auto insurance providers and their policies, you may be able to strike a deal.
Here are some potential discounts worth exploring:
- Safe driving discounts
- Bundled policy discounts
- Student discounts based on achieving high marks or participating in safe driving programs
- Employer discounts
Nevada Auto Insurance Penalties
Because of the Nevada LIVE program, it’s easier to get busted in Nevada for driving without at least the minimum required coverage levels than in many other states. And the penalties for driving without car insurance can be stiff, ranging from a small fine, reinstatement fee and suspension of license to up to $1,750 of combined fines and fees for a third offense.
Finally, any Nevada drivers who have a lapse in car insurance for 91 days or more need to maintain a form SR22 for three years.
To find out more about the car insurance requirements for Nevada drivers, visit Nevada’s Department of Motor Vehicles.