Getting the best deals on car insurance in Illinois is never easy and we know it can be very frustrating finding the most affordable rates. We'll help you along the way so you can find the cheapest prices on your coverage policy. Below you'll find everything you need to get started. If you just want to compare auto insurance rates from multiple insurers, then start comparing quotes now!
Illinois State Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance
To get an Illinois driver’s license, one has to show proof of insurance that meets the state minimums. In Illinois, the minimum coverage levels are:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 for injury/death to one person; $50,000 total for each accident.
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident.
- Property Damage Liability: $20,000 per accident.
Additionally, Illinois motorists must carry underinsured motorist insurance, which covers the difference between your UIM limits and the liability limits of the at-fault driver. If you want more information about what these numbers mean, check out our liability coverage page.
Medical payments, collision insurance, and comprehensive coverage are not required in Illinois; however, these supplemental coverages may be beneficial. Check out our resources page for more details on your options.
Often, an accident may cost more than you anticipate, with medical expenses, repairs, and legal fees. The state minimums make sure you have the lowest protection possible; sometimes, a higher amount of coverage may be appropriate. Compare rates in your area to find the plan that is best for you.
Cheap Liability Coverage in Illinois
Hunting for cheap liability car insurance? We can help. In Illinois, all you need is a state minimum policy with 25/50/20 coverage, which means $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, plus $20,000 in property damage liability. You’ll also get uninsured motorist coverage to match.
To find your absolute cheapest rates on liability coverage, you need to compare personalized quotes. That’s because insurers often quote wildly different rates, depending on your age, gender, address, driving history and other factors. When we ran the numbers for a 27-year-old Chicago driver with no recent violations, for instance, her liability insurance quotes ranged from $45 per month all the way to $144 per month. Now you see why it pays to compare!
Illinois Auto Insurance Discounts
Some businesses or groups have relationships with insurance companies that allow their employees or members to receive discounts on their insurance just for being a part of that group. Check with your employers or organizational leaders to see if you can benefit from one of these “affinity group” relationships.
Illinois Auto Insurance Penalties
Failing to carry appropriate insurance in Illinois is a violation of state law. The penalties include:
- $500 – $1,000 fine.
- Suspension of your driver’s license, with an additional $100 fee to reinstate.
- Up to a year in jail if you cause a serious accident while uninsured.
- Requirement to file an SR-22 yearly to maintain your license, once it has been reinstated.
Car Registration and Licensing Guide
Additional Vehicle Costs and Fees
If you’re in the market for a new or used car, you’ll need to budget for more than just the vehicle’s sticker price. You’ll be on the hook for basic DMV fees like title, license plate, and registration fees no matter where and how you purchase your new car, truck or SUV, as well as buying a new car insurance policy for your car. But some buyers will find themselves with additional fees such as sales tax, documentation fees, personal property tax, emissions and inspection fees, hybrid and electric vehicle fees, lien recording fees and a slew of other costs.
Check out Compare.com’s comprehensive vehicle costs breakdown to make sure you account for all the added fees you might be on the hook for when buying a car in Illinois.