Compare Rates for Arizona Car Insurance
Arizona Car Insurance Guide
Arizona’s open-road adventures will snake you across desert highways, around the Grand Canyon and over the Colorado River. But without knowing the state’s minimum coverage levels for car insurance, you could be exposed to more calamity than you bargained for. Don’t worry, we’ll provide the low down on how to comply with Arizona’s auto insurance laws so that you can enjoy the view.
Seeking out a quick auto insurance quote? We’ve got you covered.
Arizona Auto Insurance Requirements
Checking in as the third largest state, Arizona has lots of open road to cover. But before you take it all in, you should know that you need to demonstrate the ability to cover the cost of any accidents and injuries you may cause while driving. If you have the means, this can be accomplished by providing a bond, certificate of deposit or cash in the amount of $40,000. But most drivers go the way of traditional auto insurance, which must meet certain minimum levels in Arizona.
The minimum requirements in Arizona include a bodily injury liability amount of $15,000 or $30,000 per accident, as well as $10,000 for property damage per accident. Arizona law also mandates that car insurance policies match these liability coverage levels for uninsured motorists. That way, if the driver at fault has no coverage, you will still have a recourse for damages. As a “fault” state, Arizona gives the parties ruled not at fault for an accident the choice of how to reconcile damages: going through their own insurance company, going through the at-fault party’s insurance provider and/or filing a civil suit. More often than not, this means that the driver at fault will manage the claim through his or her policy and the other parties do not need to take action.
Unsure what liability insurance covers? Visit our liability coverage page.
While Arizona doesn’t require drivers to hold collision insurance, and comprehensive coverage, please bear in mind that medical payments and additional damages – including your own costs if you’re ruled to be at fault – may not be covered by this minimal levels. And you may choose to insure yourself above and beyond these levels to limit your own exposure for financial hardship.
Arizona Auto Insurance Discounts
Whether you’re looking to simply purchase the required amount of liability coverage, or you’re seeking the security of a more robust policy, there are many car insurance discounts available for Arizona drivers. Depending on the auto insurance provider you select, you may be eligible for discounts based on a good driving record, bundled policies, your employer or belonging to certain affinity groups.
Arizona Auto Insurance Penalties
If you fail to comply with Arizona’s minimum auto insurance requirements, and are cited, you may face the following penalties:
- A fine of up to $250 and suspension of license up to three months for a first offense
- A fine of at least $500 and a suspension of license up to six months for a second offense within 36 months
- A fine of at least $750 and a suspension of license and registration of one year for a third offense within 36 months
Additionally, suspended drivers will need to furnish a SR-22 form to prove certification of financial responsibility before they are allowed back behind the wheel.
To learn more about the auto insurance requirements and penalties for Arizona drivers, visit Arizona’s Department of Insurance Website.