Compare Rates for Tennessee Car Insurance
Tennessee Car Insurance Guide
Driving through Tennessee’s rolling Blue Ridge Mountains can be an adventure – especially if you don’t know the basic facts and minimum coverage levels for car insurance. To help you get up to speed, we’ve provided a primer on auto insurance in Tennessee.
Just need an auto insurance quote? Head over this way.
Tennessee Auto Insurance Requirements
While Tennessee is known as the Volunteer State, demonstrating financial responsibility is mandatory for all drivers. Issuing a cash deposit or bond for $60,000, or qualifying as a self-insurer are the rare and round-about ways to meet this requirement, but most Tennessee drivers go the route of car insurance. Auto insurance policies come with minimum required levels in Tennessee that will help guide your car insurance shopping.
Tennessee Bodily Injury Liability Requirements
For bodily injury liability, Tennessee residents need minimum coverage levels of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
For property damage liability, which includes damage to homes and vehicles, drivers need to secure a minimum of $15,000 in coverage.
Collision and comprehensive insurance are available, but not required. Additionally, while insurance companies must include Tennessee drivers uninsured motorist coverage at those same levels in their policies, drivers can choose to decline this provision. Think hard about this decision as the coverage provides security in the event that you have an accident with an uninsured motorist. In Tennessee, an estimated 20-percent of drivers are uninsured. Paying your premiums is only half the battle; the state also necessitates that drivers keep proof of insurance on them at all times.
Don’t know what those numbers mean? Check out our liability coverage page.
As a “fault” state, Tennessee places the legal liability and financial responsibility of an accident on drivers who were determined to have caused accidents. This allows those injured in accidents the option of filing a claim with their own provider, filing through the provider of the party determined to be at fault, and to file a civil suit seeking additional damages.
You don’t need to worry about insurance for Medical payments, collision insurance, and comprehensive coverage in Tennessee; however, please keep in mind the added costs that that lawsuits and other bills could bring your way. The minimal coverage amounts may not be sufficient for your own financial situation if you are deemed to be at fault for an accident. See our resources page for more details on your options.
Tennessee Auto Insurance Discounts
Odds are that you may qualify for more car insurance discounts than you think. From safe driving discounts to employer-arranged incentives and insurance bundling opportunities, there are a number of ways to save on auto insurance. Do your homework as different providers offer different discount programs.
Tennessee Auto Insurance Penalties
While meeting the minimum Tennessee car insurance requirements provides peace of mind, failure to maintain compliance may result in the following penalties:
- A Class C misdemeanor conviction and a fine of up to $100
- Suspension of your driver’s license
- The need to have meet all requirements associated with having driving privileges reinstated before you can renew your registration
- Being required to file an SR-22 annual for five years after driving privileges are reinstated (In Tennessee, this may be truncated to three years if SR-22 is filed three total years after reinstatement.)