Did you know that it’s illegal to cruise in the left lane in Oklahoma? If you’re not passing, move on over — or you could be fined up to $249.
t’s also illegal to drive without car insurance. If you’re having a hard time finding a policy you can afford, Compare.com can help. Here’s our step-by-step guide to getting the best rates. And if you just need cheap Oklahoma insurance fast, then start comparing free quotes to find the best deal for you.
How Do I Find the Cheapest Auto Insurance Company in Oklahoma?
Drivers often want to know which company offers the absolute cheapest Oklahoma auto insurance. The truth is, there’s no single insurer with super-low rates. The cost of car insurance is extremely personalized: It’s affected by your place of residence, your job, your age, etc. Your credit can influence insurance, too. A Consumer Reports study found that for single drivers seeking auto insurance in Oklahoma, having poor credit and a perfect driving history actually meant paying $1,674 more per year than having great credit and a DWI.
So what does all this mean? The only way to find the cheapest Oklahoma car insurance is to compare customized quotes. Enter some basic info, select state minimum coverage, and see how low the insurance companies can go.
What are the State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements for Oklahoma?
Oklahoma’s minimum insurance requirements are abbreviated as 25/50/25, which means:
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability: Bodily injury liability pays for other people’s medical bills and lost wages when they’re injured in an accident you’re legally liable for.
- $25,000 in property damage liability: Property damage liability pays for damage to other people’s property (such as their cars) in an acchttps://www.compare.comident you’re liable for.
While Oklahoma law doesn’t require you to carry uninsured motorist bodily injury liability, it does require auto insurers to offer it as part of every policy. This coverage can protect you if a driver with insufficient or no insurance injures you in a collision.
Do I Need More Than the Minimum Insurance in Oklahoma?
State minimum insurance is cheap, but it may not be enough to cover you. If you own a home, or other expensive assets that you could lose if someone sues you, you’ll want insurance with higher liability limits. If your car is newer, or if you have a car loan, you’ll need to add comprehensive and collision coverage.
Cheap Liability Coverage in Oklahoma
Looking for really cheap liability insurance? You need a policy that just meets Oklahoma’s minimum requirements: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, plus $25,000 in property damage liability.
The best way to find the cheapest policy is to compare different quotes on Compare.com. When we ran the numbers for our sample driver — a 27-year-old woman in Oklahoma City who has a clean driving record — her liability insurance quotes ranged from $62 to $138 per month. That’s a huge spread! There’s only one way to find out how much cheap liability car insurance will cost you: Compare quotes yourself.
How Can I Find the Right Level of Coverage at the Right Price?
We can help you find the perfect Oklahoma car insurance policy: one that covers all your assets but is also cheap enough for you to afford. All you have to do is get quotes for different levels of insurance, then pick the one that fits you best.
As an example, we ran the numbers for a 27-year-old teacher with a clean driving record who’s shopping for cheap auto insurance in Oklahoma City. Her quotes for minimum coverage auto insurance in OKC range from $62 to $138 per month when she chooses to pay her premiums up front (this saves money by avoiding a down payment plus installment fees).
That’s not too bad — but our OKC driver owns a five-year-old Hyundai Elantra, and she wants to protect her car with collision and comprehensive coverage. If you drive a super-old or busted car, you may be able to skip collision and comprehensive. Our driver then selects the next-best level of insurance: Basic, which adds comprehensive and collision with a $1,000 deductible. Now, our driver’s insurance quotes range from $120 to $271 per month. You can see why it pays to compare!
Now, let’s say our driver owns a home in OKC. If she wants insurance with higher limits to protect her house and other assets, she can look at her quotes for Plus coverage, too. In Oklahoma, Plus auto insurance doubles bodily injury liability and property damage liability to 50/100/50 (with the same limits for uninsured motorist coverage). It also adds $2,000 in medical payments, which pay medical bills for the driver, family and passengers when they get hurt in an accident. The comprehensive/collision deductible drops to $500, and she gets towing/rental car coverage too. Her quotes for Plus coverage range from $159 to $322 per month.
Your rates will be different, of course, but you get the idea. Here’s one more tip: To save even more on Oklahoma auto insurance, click “Customize coverage” to drop or adjust elements of your coverage. When our OKC insurance seeker customizes Plus coverage to have a $1,000 deductible and no rental car/towing coverage, her best quote drops to $140. That’s almost $20 she could save every month.
What are the Uninsured Driver Laws in Oklahoma?
Think you can get away with driving uninsured in OK? It’s not a good idea. If you’re convicted, you’re looking at a $250 fine, up to 30 days in jail and a suspended license. And that’s not all! The police officer who catches you driving without insurance can also impound your vehicle or seize your license plates. You can’t get your plates back until you prove that you have insurance and pay a fee of $125.
Trust us: It’s a lot easier just to get insurance! We’ll help you compare quotes for OK car insurance so you can pick the cheapest option. Get started now.
What Fees Will I Have to Pay When Buying a Car in Oklahoma?
If you’re in the market for a new or used car, you’ll need to budget for more than just the vehicle’s sticker price. You’ll be on the hook for basic DMV fees like title, license plate, and registration fees no matter where and how you purchase your new car, truck or SUV, as well as buying a new car insurance policy for your car. But some buyers will find themselves with additional fees such as sales tax, documentation fees, personal property tax, emissions and inspection fees, hybrid and electric vehicle fees, lien recording fees and a slew of other costs.
Check out Compare.com’s comprehensive vehicle costs breakdown to make sure you account for all the added fees you might be on the hook for when buying a car in Oklahoma.
Compare Oklahoma Car Insurance Rates by City
The area you live in is one of the main factors that determine how much or how little you pay for car insurance. If your area has a high auto theft rate, you may pay more. If there is very little traffic on your way to work, you may end up paying less. To help you see how rates vary from city to city, check out our rate comparison table below.
|City||Average Monthly Car Insurance Premium|
Click on the name of each city in the table above to find detailed breakdowns on all the factors that go into calculating your monthly premium. Here, you’ll find all the information you need on how things like driving record, age, gender, vehicle make and model, and more will affect how much you pay for car insurance in each locality.
And if you want to jump right in and see how much you’ll pay, simply enter your ZIP code below and find your best rate in minutes!