Looking for information about buying auto insurance in Maryland? We can help you out! Here's everything you need to know about insuring your car, including information on car insurance discounts, licensing and insurance options, minimum coverage requirements for Maryland and other valuable insurance information.
What are Maryland's Minimum Car Insurance Requirements?
A driver’s license in Maryland requires a certain showing of financial responsibility; usually people show this responsibility by holding a car insurance policy. Each state has minimum requirements for car insurance. In Maryland, those minimum levels are:
- Body Injury Liability: $30,000 for one person; $60,000 total for two or more people
- Property Damage Liability: $15,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $30,000 for one person; $60,000 for all injuries per accident; $15,000 in property damage.
- Underinsured motorist: covered under uninsured motorist.
- Personal Injury Protection: $2,500
For more information on different types of coverage, check out our liability coverage page.
Medical payments, collision insurance, and comprehensive coverage (other than collision) are not required in Maryland. Just because they aren’t required don’t mean they aren’t a good idea. Sometimes, the cost of an accident is far greater than minimum coverage requirements. Additional coverage may be beneficial in the long run. See our Auto Insurance Guides for more information.
Cheap Liability Coverage in Maryland
To drive legally in Maryland, you just need state minimum liability car insurance. That means a 30/60/15 policy: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, plus $15,000 in property damage liability. However, you’ll also need uninsured motorist coverage that matches these limits, plus at least $2,500 in PIP.
So, how can you find cheap liability car insurance coverage in Maryland? All you have to do is compare personalized quotes for a state-minimum policy, and you’ll see how low your rates can go. When we ran the numbers for a 27-year-old driver in Frederick, for example, her quotes ranged from $77 to $99 per month. Your quotes for liability coverage may be higher or lower, depending on your driving record, age, and other factors.
Maryland Auto Insurance Discounts
There’s an easy way to save money on your car insurance that most drivers don’t know about: affinity group discounts offered through various Maryland companies and institutions. If you’re an employee or a member of a participating organization, you may qualify for an affinity group discount with one or more major insurance companies.
Maryland Auto Insurance Penalties
Failure to meet the minimum requirements for Texas may result in an array of penalties. These include:
- $150 for the first 30 days, followed by $7 for every day you don’t have insurance.
- $25 additional fee to reinstate your license.
- Suspension of your registration and license plates.
- If you provide falsified evidence of insurance, you can be fined up to $1,000 and face up to a year in jail.
Car Registration and Licensing Guide
Read our Maryland Car Registration and Licensing guide to earn what steps you need to take when getting a Maryland driver’s license, registering your car, and more.
Vehicle Fees and Other Costs
If you’re in the market for a new or used car, you’ll need to budget for more than just the vehicle’s sticker price. You’ll be on the hook for basic DMV fees like title, license plate, and registration fees no matter where and how you purchase your new car, truck or SUV, as well as buying a new car insurance policy for your car. But some buyers will find themselves with additional fees such as sales tax, documentation fees, personal property tax, emissions and inspection fees, hybrid and electric vehicle fees, lien recording fees and a slew of other costs.
Check out Compare.com’s comprehensive vehicle costs breakdown to make sure you account for all the added fees you might be on the hook for when buying a car in Maryland.