5 Things You Need to Know About California Car Seat Laws
It may seem like a struggle to install a car seat for your child, but never forget there’s a good reason you’re doing it! Using a car seat reduces the risk of death to infants by 71 percent and to toddlers by 54 percent, according to the Centers for Disease Control. Before you leave the driveway,make sure you understand California car seat laws. Here’s what you need to know to keep your kids safe and to abide by the California driving laws.
California Car Seat Laws Aren’t Just For Babies.
As of 2012, California car seat laws require all children under 8 who are shorter than 4 feet, 9 inches to ride in a car seat or booster seat in the back. There’s a good reason for this: In an accident, the risk of a child getting injured is reduced by 33 percent when riding in the back seat, according to the California Highway Patrol (CHP). California’s laws also require children under one to ride in a rear-facing seat, although it’s safest to keep children rear-facing until at least age two. All children must wear seatbelts until age 16.
California car seat laws are stricter than many other states’. The other states that generally require a child restraint for children up to age 8 (as opposed to 7 or younger) are Colorado, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, New Jersey, Oregon, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington, and Wyoming.
On January 1, 2017, California is also requiring that children that are under the age of two must use a rear-facing car seat option unless he or she is taller than forty inches or weighs more than forty pounds. All manufacturers directions must be followed for each specific car seat.
There Are Some Exceptions to the Law
What if you drive a pickup truck? Or a two-seater sports car? Or an older car without shoulder belts in the back? California car seat laws do include some exceptions for situations like these, allowing a child to ride in the front seat if:
- Your vehicle has no rear seats.
- Rear seats are side-facing jump seats.
- A car seat cannot be properly installed in the back.
- There is a pediatrician-approved medical reason for a child not to be secured in the back seat.
It’s important to remember that a rear-facing car seat must never be placed in a front seat in a vehicle with airbags. The force of an airbag deploying in an accident can cause serious injuries to an infant. If you must place a rear-facing car seat in the front seat, only do so if your vehicle has a switch to deactivate the passenger-side air bag. This will help reduce further injury from the airbag.
California Car Seat Law for Multiple Children
Safely installing a car seat is simple if you only have one child to worry about. But what if you have three? California car seat laws allow for exceptions if the back seat is fully occupied by children under 12. You’ll need to use your best judgment and place each child where he or she is safest.
The California Highway Patrol gives an example: what if a car only has lap belts in the back, and a driver needs to transport a 5-year-old in a booster seat, a 2-year-old in a forward-facing car seat and an infant in a rear-facing car seat? Because a booster seat must be used with a shoulder belt, the 5-year-old goes in the front seat. The younger children should ride in the back in properly secured car seats.
Strictly Enforced Car Seat Laws in California
Even though the law includes some exceptions for different situations, that doesn’t mean parents can disregard California’s car seat laws. If you’re caught driving while your children under 16 aren’t safely secured, you can be fined $100 for a first offense and $250 for subsequent offenses. Lower-income drivers may have to attend a car-seat education course in lieu of paying the fine. The California Highway Patrol encourages drivers to report improperly secured children by calling 1-800-TELLCHP FREE.
The Child Safety Seat Helpline is Just a Click Away
Despite manufacturers’ best efforts to make them easy to use, car seats are complicated. Infant seats, convertible seats, all-in-one seats and booster seats each have a specific way they must be installed to make them safe. Some seats use a LATCH belt that attaches to anchors in the car, while others may be installed with a seatbelt. A general rule of thumb is that the belt should be tight enough so you can’t move the car seat side-to-side or front-to-back more than 1 inch.
If you need help installing a seat, or you want an expert to make sure the seat is correctly installed, you can find a California car seat inspection station here. Many certified technicians, who are often firefighters, will take a look free of charge. Or, you can contact your local CHP office for a free lesson in car seat installation.
There’s one other way you can protect yourself and your children, and that’s by making sure you’re fully insured. Learn more about California car insurance and get free car insurance quotes on Compare.com.